East India (also known as Eastern India) is a region of India consisting of the Indian states of West BengalBihar,Jharkhand, Odisha and also the union territory Andaman and Nicobar Islands. West Bengal’s capital Kolkata is the largest city of this region. The states of Odisha and West Bengal share some cultural and linguistic characteristics with Bangladesh and with the state of Assam. Bengali is the most spoken language of this region and it is also the second most spoken language in India after Hindi.Oriya is the only language in east India accorded the status of a Classical Language of India. Together with Bangladesh, West Bengal formed the ethno-linguistic region of Bengal before partition in 1947. The historic region of Bengalwhich was ruled by Nawabs of Bengal comprises the present, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand and Bangladesh from where the British started their conquest of India.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s